Ford Cruise Control Recall

Can you imagine walking outside to go to work, only to find your precious car engulfed in flames? Or what if you awoke in the middle of the night to find your garage and home on fire, not knowing what caused it? This is exactly what happened to hundreds of Ford owners over the last decade or so. Sadly, some of the cases were fatal. Since 1999, Ford has recalled more than 10 million vehicles, thanks to a faulty cruise control switch that could cause the vehicle to erupt in flames without warning. The switch can cause an eruption even when the vehicle is turned off and parked because the switch is powered at all times. In some cases fluid leaking into the switch could cause it to short circuit resulting in a fire. This is what led to the earliest Ford cruise control recalls.

This particular cruise control switch has been used on Ford vehicles since 1992. Since 1992, the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) has documented more than 600 fires that have been caused by the defective component. Unfortunately, the Ford cruise control recalls just keep stacking up. The most recent recall took place in early 2008, when Ford recalled an additional 225,000 Ford vehicles. At this time, Ford also announced that the wiring used to fix the defective cruise control switches is also faulty. Even worse, according to The U.S. Department of Consumer Affairs, Ford has been unable to buy or manufacture enough parts to repair all of the vehicles involved in the massive recall.

Today, millions of Ford vehicles remain in at risk as they have not been repaired. At this point, Ford dealers require owners of at-risk vehicles to disconnect their cruise control system. If the customer declines, the are required to sign a waiver of liability.

The following Ford vehicles are involved in the Ford cruise control recall:

Ford Bronco SUV 1993
Ford Crown Victoria Sedan 1992-1998
Ford E150 Van 1992-1993, 1997-2002
Ford E250 Van 1992-1993, 1997-2003
Ford E350 Van 1992-1993, 1997-2003
Ford E450 Van 2003
Ford Explorer SUV 1991-2001
Ford Explorer Sport SUV 2001-2002
Ford Explorer Sport Trac SUV 2001-2002
Ford F150 Lightning Pickup 2003-2004
Ford F150 Pickup 1993
Ford F250 Pickup 1993
Ford F350 Pickup 1993
Ford F450 Pickup 1995-2002
Ford F53 Motor home 1995-2002
Ford Ranger Pickup 1998-2002
Ford Taurus SHO Sedan 1993-1995
Lincoln Mark VIII Sedan 1993-1998
Lincoln Town Car Sedan 1992-1998
Mercury Capri 2-seat Convertible 1994
Mercury Grand Marquis 1992-1998
Mercury Mountaineer SUV 1999-2001

Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

Leave a Comment

Skip to content